Chemical Industry

Integrated Consulting for Specialty and Commodity Chemicals

The Chemical Industry historically operates in a cyclical environment covering raw material swings, demand variability, and political and economic uncertainties. Being positioned at the start of many other industry value chains exposes it even more to rapidly changing downstream effects and rapid raw material movements. Discussions with our customers show how difficult it was for the chemical industry to take the right measures during the recent downturns to cope with the sudden drastic decline of orders without endangering customer satisfaction and even more to switch back to normal operation once recovery took place. Slight changes since the last downturn include: an increased emphasis being given to identify potential risk within Supply Chain Operations and options for mitigation, and Supply Chain Flexibility.

Chemical Industry
Chemical Industry

Today, we continue to support our clients in coping with the challenges posed by the ongoing weakness of the western financial system.  It comes as no surprise that companies continue to:

  • focus on day-to-day ongoing cost efficiency and effectiveness and capital/cash effectiveness through-out their business value chains
  • re-appraise their strategic direction, to safeguard core-competence, while shedding peripheral activities and taking advantage of new M&A opportunities thrown up by market dynamics

Optimising the entire chemicals sector value chain 

J&M is recognised for both taking an end-to-end approach to evaluate the business value chain of chemical companies, and identifying opportunities to improve efficiency, effectiveness and cycle times. Our prime focus is on working in partnership with clients to deliver significant, tangible cost improvements and optimised working capital.
 
Throughout the last 15 years J&M has successfully worked with clients in the Chemicals sector and this experience gives us a wealth of knowledge of sector-specific characteristics such as 
  • supply chain operations 
  • logistics excellence 
  • transactional procurement and leveraging indirect spend
  • continuous improvement in production excellence 
  • pricing and commercial excellence
  • post-merger integration to implement synergies
  • handling multi way customer/competitor/supplier trade-offs
  • introducing best practices and insights from other J&M sectors including FMCG, Hi-Tech, and Automotive 

The result: Optimum interplay between assets, employees, processes and systems

Our clients look for consulting support based on the following competencies:  
  • Developing and implementing approaches and solutions with a bottom line focus to deliver measurable sustainable difference ~ delivering a 25-30 % reduction in product inventory to a fine chemicals company
  • End-to-end value chain experience (Commercial, Purchasing, Manufacturing, Distribution/Logistics, Customer Service) ~ to deliver a new business proposition of low cost leadership to a specialty chemical company
  • Insights into integrated supply chain management and planning ~ helped a large fine chemical producer to implement a world-wide S&OP process
  • Integrated supply chain and distribution network design and optimisation, e.g. reducing the regional network complexity and cost by 20-25 % for a chemicals distributor
  • Ability to fine-tune and optimise critical business systems e.g. for a specialty chemicals leveraged existing SAP functionality to increase overall business process efficiency
  • Developing pragmatic IT visions and strategies for implementation, e.g. for a global commodity producer developed the post-merger integration IT vision and strategy to reduce total cost of ownership by 30 %
  • Leading inventory reduction and optimisation initiatives, understanding cost/cash to serve and driving complexity reduction and increased customer value add e.g. we helped a leading world-wide colour producer to reduce inventories by 30% 
  • Continuous improvement leveraging available six sigma and lean tools and techniques to create bespoke CI initiatives, e.g. introduced best of breed CI concepts to a global chemco through us of lighthouse pilot projects to drive local ownership and sustainability
  • Creating pragmatic, implementable KPIs to effective support operations, e.g. creating a Supply Chain Operations KPI Cockpit for a Global Chemco to support SC management reporting and decision making

Chemische Industrie

Integrierte Beratung für Chemieunternehmen

Die chemische Industrie agiert seit jeher in einem Umfeld, das stark von Konjunkturzyklen, Schwankungen auf den Rohstoffmärkten, volatiler Nachfrage sowie politischer und ökonomischer Unsicherheit geprägt ist. Das liegt insbesondere an der vorgelagerten Position der chemischen Industrie – am Anfang anderer industrieller Wertschöpfungsketten. Während der letzten Krise hatten viele Unternehmen Schwierigkeiten die richtigen Maßnahmen gegen den plötzlichen und heftigen Auftragseinbruch einzuleiten, ohne dabei die Kundenzufriedenheit zu gefährden. Noch problematischer war jedoch das "Zurückschalten" nach der Krise, als sich die Wirtschaft erholte. Seitdem legen die Unternehmen mehr Wert auf das Identifizieren möglicher Risiken in ihren Supply Chain Operations sowie auf Supply Chain Flexibilität.

Chemische Industrie
Chemische Industrie

J&M unterstützt seine Klienten bei den Herausforderungen, die durch die anhaltende Schwäche des westlichen Finanzsystems hervorgerufen werden. So ist es wenig überraschend, dass Unternehmen

  • über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette ihren Fokus auf Kosteneffizienz und -effektivität sowie auf Kapital- und Cash-Effektivität legen   
  • ihre strategische Ausrichtung überprüfen, ihre Kernkompetenzen bewahren, sich von peripheren Aktivitäten trennen und neue, durch die Marktdynamik hervorgebrachte M&A Optionen in Betracht ziehen. 

Optimierung der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der chemischen Industrie

J&M zeichnet sich durch einen End-to-End-Ansatz aus, mit dem die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von Chemieunternehmen betrachtet wird. Unsere Berater analysieren die Supply Chain und identifizieren Möglichkeiten, um deren Effizienz und Effektivität zu steigern und die Durchlaufzeiten zu verkürzen. Wir legen besonderen Wert auf eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Klienten, um greifbare und nachhaltige Verbesserungen zu  erzielen. 
 
Im Laufe der vergangenen 15 Jahre hat J&M erfolgreich mit Unternehmen aus der chemischen Industrie zusammengearbeitet. Das erworbene spezifische Branchen-Know-how umfasst unter anderem: 
  • Supply Chain Operations
  • Logistics Excellence
  • Beschaffung und indirekte Ausgaben
  • Kontinuierliche Verbesserung in der Fertigung (Production Excellence)
  • Pricing und Commercial Excellence
  • Post-Merger Integration zur Nutzung von Synergien
  • Managen der komplexen Austauschbeziehungen zwischen Kunden, Wettbewerbern und Lieferanten
  • Best Practices und Insights aus anderen Branchen wie Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG), Hightech und Automotive 

Das Ergebnis: optimales Zusammenspiel zwischen Assets, Mitarbeitern, Prozessen und Systemen

Für unsere Klienten haben wir basierend auf unseren Kompetenzen bereits folgende Ergebnisse erzielt:
  • Entwicklung und Implementierung von ergebnisorientierten Methoden und Lösungen, die einen messbaren, nachhaltigen Unterschied machen – mit Bestandssenkung von 30-40 %
  • Entwicklung eines neuen Geschäftsentwurfs für einen Kostenführer in der Spezialchemie dank einer End-to-End-Sicht auf die chemische Wertschöpfungskette sowie tiefgehender Erfahrung in Einkauf, Produktion, Distribution/Logistik und Kundenservice
  • Erfolgreiche Implementierung eines weltweiten S&OP Prozesses  für einen großen Feinchemieproduzenten dank tiefer Kenntnisse in integriertem Supply Chain Management und Planung 
  • Gestaltung und Optimierung eines integrierten Supply Chain und Distributionsnetzwerks, beispielsweise Reduzierung der regionalen Netzwerkkomplexität und Kostensenkung um 20 bis 25 % für einen Chemiedistributeur 
  • Verbesserung der allgemeinen Geschäftsprozesseffizienz für einen Spezialchemiekonzern dank der Fähigkeit kritische Geschäftssysteme auf die Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen eines Unternehmens abzustimmen, indem beispielsweise die Potenziale bestehender SAP-Funktionalitäten ausgeschöpft werden
  • Reduzierung der Gesamtkosten (Total Cost of Ownership) um 30 % dank der Entwicklung einer pragmatischen IT-Vision und Strategie für die Post-Merger-Integration eines weltweit agierenden Basischemieproduzenten 
  • Bestandssenkung um 30 % für einen weltweit führenden Farbenhersteller dank Know-how in Bestandsoptimierung, Cost-Cash-Cycle, Komplexitätsreduzierung sowie Wertsteigerung für die Kunden
  • Einführung von "Best in Class" Konzepten zur kontinuierlichen Verbesserung (Continuous Improvement) für einen globalen Chemiekonzern mittels Leuchtturm-Pilotprojekten, um lokale Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit voranzutreiben, Einführung eines kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozesses durch Nutzung bestehender Six Sigma und Lean Tools und Methoden 
  • Einsatz von pragmatischen, umsetzbaren Kennzahlen (KPIs), beispielsweise ein Supply Chain Operations KPI Cockpit zur Unterstützung von Supply Chain Management Reporting und Entscheidungsfindung für einen global agierenden Chemiekonzern