Green Supply Chain Management

Climate change and sustainability – compelling issues for the 21st century

Environmental awareness is already having an influence on the purchasing behaviour of modern consumers, not just because of increased oil prices and legal regulations. According to recent research, 90 per cent of consumers are planning to buy climate-neutral products in the future. In the United Kingdom, retailers such as Tesco and Marks & Spencer already label products with identifiers such as "Airfreighted" or "148g CO2".

Companies, in particular manufacturers of consumer goods, need to decide now whether they want to be pioneers of merely meet the minimum requirements. These strategic objectives have a fundamental influence on how they go about the issue of green supply chain management (Green SCM). What's needed is the evaluation and optimization of all core internal processes in procurement, manufacturing, transportation and administration on CO2 (carbon footprint) criteria. To manage CO2 emissions, these need to be quantified in the same way as costs in firms' IT systems. That involves the management of master data, the planning of processes, documenting of the results and reporting. Is a rough approximate value for CO2 emissions at corporate level sufficient, or should they be evaluated for each individual product? In managing master data, it makes sense to have CO2 values for all procured products recorded in the ERP system. The corresponding consumption in internal processes and in transportation should be recorded in working plans in the same way as costs are accounted for. Software suppliers such as SAP AG are already working intensively on solutions.

Beyond the pure measurement of a company's carbon footprint, IT will in future be required to build a carbon footprint dimension into existing tools for network planning and transport optimization, for example, to guarantee the optimum utilization of transport capacity. But applications calling for collaboration in the exchange of data throughout the supply chain are also coming under focus. Such as the electronic exchange of updated master data on CO2 emissions when something changes in the process (production, transportation, etc.). In turn, the reporting set-up needs to be able to incorporate and illustrate this new criterion.

Companies would be well advised to address the subject. With its Green SCM Scan, J&M Management Consulting offers a method of determining the current status, quickly and efficiently, and planning how to proceed.

Green Supply Chain Management

Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit sind die bewegenden Themen des 21. Jahrhunderts

Der moderne Konsument richtet schon heute sein Kaufverhalten nach Klimafreundlichkeit aus, nicht nur wegen der gestiegenen Ölpreise und der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen. Laut einer aktuellen Studie wollen 90 Prozent der Verbraucher in Zukunft klimaneutrale Produkte kaufen. In Großbritannien kennzeichnen Handelsunternehmen wie Tesco und Marks & Spencer bereits Produkte z.B. „Airfreighted" oder „148g CO2".

Unternehmen, insbesondere Konsumgüterhersteller, müssen sich jetzt entscheiden, ob sie Vorreiter sein oder nur die Mindestanforderungen erfüllen wollen. Diese strategischen Zielsetzungen haben wesentlichen Einfluss auf die weitere Vorgehensweise im Green Supply Chain Management (Green SCM). Es gilt, alle wesentlichen unternehmensinternen Prozesse in Beschaffung, Herstellung, Transport und Verwaltung nach CO2-Kriterien (Carbon Footprint) zu bewerten und zu optimieren. Um CO2-Emissionen zu managen, müssen sie wie Kosten in den IT-Systemen abgebildet werden. Das betrifft das Verwalten von Stammdaten, das Planen der Prozesse, die Dokumentation der Ergebnisse bis hin zum Reporting. Reicht ein grober Näherungswert der CO2-Emissionen auf Unternehmensebene oder sollen sie für jedes einzelne Produkt bewertet werden? Bei der Verwaltung von Stammdaten ist es sinnvoll, dass im ERP-System für alle beschafften Produkte CO2-Werte hinterlegt werden. In den Arbeitsplänen sind die entsprechenden Verbräuche bei internen Prozessen analog der Kostenrechnung zu hinterlegen, ebenso wie beim Transport. Softwareanbieter wie die SAP AG arbeiten bereits intensiv an Lösungen.

Über die pure Messung des Carbon Footprints hinaus ist die IT zukünftig gefordert, in den vorhandenen Tools zur Netzwerkplanung und Transportoptimierung die Dimension Carbon Footprint zu ergänzen, um z.B. eine optimale Auslastung der Transportkapazitäten zu gewährleisten. Aber auch Anwendungen, die Kollaboration und den Datenaustausch entlang der Supply Chain fördern, rücken in den Fokus. So etwa der elektronische Austausch von aktualisierten Stammdaten der CO2-Emissionen, wenn sich am Prozess (Produktion, Transport, etc.) etwas geändert hat. Weiterhin muss die Reporting-Landschaft dieses neue Merkmal aufnehmen und darstellen können.

Unternehmen sind gut beraten, sich mit dem Thema zu befassen. J&M Management Consulting bietet mit dem J&M Green SCM Scan eine Methode an, schnell und effizient den Standort zu bestimmen und das weitere Vorgehen zu planen.