Hidden Champion of the Consulting Market

J&M is the leading Management Consultancy for SCM

There is no better consulting service in the core area of Supply Chain Management than that offered by J&M Management Consulting. This is the conclusion arrived at by the fourth Hidden Champions Study which is carried out every three years by the industry expert, Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink, and which is presented in the current issue of the German business magazine CAPITAL. For the second time consecutively J&M was able to secure first place in the category "SCM – Internal Supply Chains and Processes" in the Hidden Champions Study 2012, ahead of McKinsey & Company, Boston Consulting Group, Barkawi Management Consultants and Roland Berger. The Hidden Champions Study is carried out every three years and is regarded as the leading ranking in the consulting industry.

J&M is the best Consultancy for SCM – Internal Supply Chains and Processes
J&M is the best Consultancy for SCM – Internal Supply Chains and Processes
J&M reached the second place in the most important criterion
J&M reached the second place in the most important criterion "Transformation Excellence"
Since 2009 J&M has been the best Consultancy for SCM – Internal Supply Chains and Processes
Since 2009 J&M has been the best Consultancy for SCM – Internal Supply Chains and Processes
In the Hidden Champions Study 2009 J&M reached the third place for Consulting in distribution logistics and After Market Services.
In the Hidden Champions Study 2009 J&M reached the third place for Consulting in distribution logistics and After Market Services.

Hidden Champions Study 2009 and 2012

Internal supply chains and processes are the core of the operating activities of industrial enterprises. This core area of Supply Chain Management (SCM) comprises the "consulting to optimise the quality and efficiency of internal corporate processes related to procurement, manufacturing, transport and management throughout a company's entire value chain – from the supply chain strategy and the operational planning and control processes to implementation in the required IT systems."

"One of the most important success factors for the future for industrial enterprises is a global Supply Chain Management", says Dr. Andreas Müller, Founder and Spokesperson for the Board at J&M. "We create added value for our clients in their operational business by developing adaptable, robust and high-performance supply chains and networks. We call this Operational Value Add." J&M was awarded as Hidden Champion in 2009 for the first time. In 2012 they succeeded once again. The Hidden-Champion-Study is carried out every three years and is considered to be the leading ranking in the area of Management Consulting.

J&M achieves top ranking in transformation excellence

"We were awarded top marks in the most important criteria for management consultancy – transformation excellence", explains Dr. Ing. Frank Jenner, also Founder and Spokesperson for the Board at J&M Management Consulting. "This underlines the fact that our integrated consulting approach, combining management consulting and IT competence, best supports companies in actually improving their operational business." In the Best of Consulting competition of the "Wirtschaftswoche", which focuses more on consulting projects in middle-sized businesses, J&M has also been awarded every year in the area of SCM.

J&M is a growth story amongst the Hidden Champions

The financial figures underline J&M's success. The consulting firm has had the strongest growth amongst the Hidden Champions. Between 2008 and 2011, J&M increased its turnover by a total of 57 percent to 49.7 million euros per year. The market success underlines the right consulting approach of J&M. This is also true according to the Lünendonk list of the TOP 10 of the leading middle-sized Management Consultancies where J&M has been listed in 2012.

About the Hidden Champions Study

The Hidden Champions Study was carried out for the fourth time in 2012. A total of 481 board members, managing directors and executive managers were surveyed. A Hidden Champion must meet three criteria.

A Hidden Champion is comparatively unknown: In the top management of German companies with an annual turnover of more than 1 billion euros, the "unprompted level of awareness", i.e. the percentage of people who know a consulting firm without having been provided with memory aids, must not be more than 15 percent. In order to determine the values, the Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Management und Beratung (Scientific Society for Management and Consulting) asked 264 executives to name ten Management Consultancies, without aided recall. Companies, which were mentioned by more than 15 % of the interviewees, could not qualify due to their prominence.

A Hidden Champion operates in the same market as the Champions: The percentage of a Hidden Champion's clients, who are also clients of one or more of the three Champions (McKinsey, Roland Berger and BCG), must be at least 50 % of those examined.

A Hidden Champion is a serious alternative to the Champions: In the top management of German companies, the expertise of a Hidden Champion must be rated higher in at least one area of consultancy that that of McKinsey, Roland Berger and BCG.

"Supply Chain Management is one of the most competitive consulting fields. SCM is an important aspect of Operations Management. We anticipate that the greatest demand for consulting projects in the future will be in improving the operational processes of a company."

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink

Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Management und Beratung (WGMB)

Managing Partner

Frank Jenner Frank Jenner
Managing Partner

Hidden Champion Awards

Hidden Champion des Beratungsmarktes

J&M führende Management Beratung für SCM Consulting

Für den Kernbereich von Supply Chain Management gibt es keine bessere Beratung als J&M Management Consulting. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt die vierte Hidden-Champions-Studie von Branchenkenner Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink, deren Ergebnisse 2012 wieder im Wirtschaftsmagazin CAPITAL veröffentlich wurden. J&M konnte sich in der Kategorie „SCM – Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse" im Rahmen der Hidden-Champions-Studie zum zweiten Mal in Folge den ersten Platz sichern, vor McKinsey & Company, Boston Consulting Group, Barkawi Management Consultants und Roland Berger. Auch in den bisherigen Best of Consulting Wettbewerben der Wirtschaftswoche wurde J&M im Bereich SCM Consulting ausgezeichnet. Damit zählt J&M in den anerkannten Rankings des Beratermarkts als führende Supply Chain Management Beratung.

J&M ist die beste Beratung für SCM – Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse
J&M ist die beste Beratung für SCM – Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse
J&M erreicht Platz 2 beim wichtigsten Kriterium
J&M erreicht Platz 2 beim wichtigsten Kriterium "Umsetzungsfähigkeit"
Seit 2009 ist J&M die beste Beratung für SCM – Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse
Seit 2009 ist J&M die beste Beratung für SCM – Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse
In der Hidden Champions Studie 2009 erreichte J&M den dritten Platz für Beratung in Distributionslogistik und After Market Services.
In der Hidden Champions Studie 2009 erreichte J&M den dritten Platz für Beratung in Distributionslogistik und After Market Services.

Hidden-Champions-Studie 2009 und 2012

Interne Lieferketten und Prozesse bilden den Kernbereich des operativen Geschäftes von Industrieunternehmen. Dieser Kernbereich des Supply Chain Managements (SCM) umfasst die „Beratung zur Optimierung der Qualität und der Effizienz unternehmensinterner Prozesse in Beschaffung, Herstellung, Transport und Verwaltung entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette eines Unternehmens – von der Supply-Chain-Strategie über die operativen Planungs- und Steuerungsprozesse bis hin zur Umsetzung in den erforderlichen IT-Systemen." So definiert Prof. Fink das Segment im Unterschied zu den beiden anderen SCM Segmenten „Einkauf und Beschaffung" sowie „Distribution und After Sales Services".

„Für Industrieunternehmen ist ein globales Supply Chain Management einer der wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren für die Zukunft", so Dr. Andreas Müller, Gründer und Vorstandssprecher von J&M. „Wir schaffen für unsere Klienten Mehrwert in ihrem operativen Business, indem wir anpassungsfähige, stabile und  hochleistungsfähige Lieferketten und Netzwerke entwickeln. Wir nennen das Operational Value Add." J&M ist im Jahre 2009 zum ersten Mal als Hidden Champion ausgezeichnet worden. 2012 gelang dies erneut. Die Hidden-Champions-Studie wird alle drei Jahre durchgeführt und gilt als führendes Ranking im Bereich Management Consulting.

J&M in Umsetzungsfähigkeit mit Spitzenwerten

Die Studie zeigt auch die wichtigsten Kriterien für Berater aus Kundensicht auf. Dazu gehören vor allem die Umsetzungsfähigkeit, Branchenkenntnisse und Vordenkertum eines Beratungshauses. „Im wichtigsten Kriterium für Management Beratungen, in der Umsetzungsfähigkeit, haben wir Spitzenwerte erhalten", so Dr.-Ing. Frank Jenner, ebenfalls Gründer und Vorstandssprecher von J&M Management Consulting. „Das unterstreicht, dass unser integrierter Beratungsansatz, Managementberatung mit IT Kompetenz, Unternehmen am besten unterstützt, ihr operatives Geschäft auch wirklich zu verbessern." Auch im Best of Consulting Wettbewerb der Wirtschaftswoche, der sich mehr auf Beratungsprojekte im Mittelstand fokussiert, hat J&M in jedem Jahr Auszeichnungen im Bereich SCM erhalten.

J&M ist die Wachstumsstory unter den Hidden Champions

Vergleicht man die Geschäftszahlen der Hidden Champions 2009 untereinander und deren Entwicklung bis heute, so ist J&M das Unternehmen mit dem weitaus stärksten Wachstum. Der Umsatz von J&M verdoppelte sich fast von 28 Mio. Euro auf 49,7 Mio. Euro im Geschäftsjahr 2011. Damit unterstreicht der Markterfolg den richtigen Beratungsansatz von J&M. Das zeigt auch die TOP 10 der führenden mittelständischen Managementberatungen von Lünendonk, in denen J&M 2012 ebenfalls gelistet wird.

Über die Hidden Champions Studie

Die Hidden-Champions-Studie wurde 2012 zum vierten Mal durchgeführt. Befragt wurden insgesamt 481 Vorstände, Geschäftsführer und Manager der obersten Führungsebene. Ein Hidden Champion muss drei Kriterien erfüllen.

Ein Hidden Champion ist vergleichsweise unbekannt. Im Topmanagement deutscher Unternehmen mit einem Jahresumsatz von über 1 Mrd. Euro darf der ungestützte Bekanntheitsgrad eines Hidden Champions höchstens 15 Prozent betragen. Um die betreffenden Werte zu ermitteln, hat die Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Management und Beratung 264 Führungskräfte gebeten, ihnen zehn Management-Beratungsfirmen zu nennen, ohne dass ihnen Erinnerungshilfen bereitgestellt wurden. Firmen, die von mehr als 15 Prozent der Befragten genannt wurden, konnten sich aufgrund ihrer Bekanntheit nicht als Hidden Champion qualifizieren.

Ein Hidden Champion ist im gleichen Markt aktiv wie die Champions. Der Anteil der Kunden eines Hidden Champions, die auch mit einem oder mit mehreren der drei Champions – also mit McKinsey, Roland Berger oder BCG – zusammenarbeiten, muss in der untersuchten Stichprobe mindestens bei 50 Prozent liegen.

Ein Hidden Champion ist eine ernstzunehmende Alternative zu den Champions. Im Topmanagement deutscher Unternehmen muss die Kompetenz eines Hidden Champions in mindestens einem Beratungsbereich oder in einer Branche höher eingeschätzt werden als die von McKinsey, Roland Berger und BCG.

„Supply Chain Management zählt zu den am stärksten umkämpften Beratungsfeldern. SCM ist ein wichtiges Element der Operations. In der Verbesserung der operativen Prozesse eines Unternehmens sehen wir auch zukünftig die größte Nachfrage nach Consultingprojekten."

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink

Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Management und Beratung (WGMB)

Managing Partner

Frank Jenner Frank Jenner
Managing Partner

Hidden Champion Auszeichnungen