Integrated Corporate Planning

Company-specific planning solutions

The planning models of companies used so far don't sustain the current requirements due to changing basic conditions. Especially the annual budgeting process is resource and time-consuming and ties up management capacities. Yet it is too rigid to enable fast adaptions; planning data is often obsolete by the time budgeting is completed.

Furthermore, an orientation on the corporate strategy and the essential company figures is missing: Segment plans (plans of sales, turnover, overhead expenses etc.) are, in this regard, insufficiently aligned and rarely integrated. Constituted planning instruments and tools rarely fulfil the requirements which a complex and dynamic planning environment demands (e.g. simulation and comfortable planning version, automation of routine planning tasks, continuous planning, and visualisation of results).

New regulation and performance management approaches like Beyond Budgeting initiate at this point and demand a radical renunciation of the previous model.

Consulting approach of J&M

J&M develops company-specific planning solutions together with their clients – tailored to the problems in the company. Starting points are corporate goals and essential figures. Based on these, performance goals and measurements are being defined within a Balanced Scorecard which leads to concrete operative specifications for the segment plans.

Together with our clients we develop an integrated model which includes result, balance and cash flow planning in addition to the logistic segment plans. The level of detail within the segment plans can vary; they are however based on standardised premises given by the BSC. This supports a consistency of strategic goals and improves communication of company departments.

Moreover, there is a dynamic component: Planning is complemented by quarterly rolling forecast by which current changes in the S&OP planning can be included in the result and cash flow planning.

For the implementation we rely on standard software (SAP BW, BW-BPS, SEM-CPM, Integration with SAP R/3, APO) in order to benefit from their advantages e.g. high consistency and integration of data, linkage to third systems by predefined BAPIs, release assurance. BW-BPS impresses due to his role as integrator, predefined planning functions and user-friendly frontends (Excel, WEB).

The interaction of the different modules has to be analysed client-specifically. On the basis of the business case – supported by the creation of a prototype solution, if needed – J&M evaluates benefits and costs of the project.

Benefits of an integrated corporate planning

Benefit from an integrated corporate planning – J&M supports you in achieving your goals with expertise and a consequent project management.

  • Increase of efficiency due to reduced time and costs of planning processes
  • Increase of flexibility by determining the best depth of planning (no detailed budgets in all areas) and horizon of planning (transfer to rolling forecasting if applicable)
  • Synergy effects and transparency due to consistent planning models across all functional and corporate boundaries
  • Reduction of the manual planning and coordinative effort due to use of modern planning instruments
  • Illustration of the planning processes with standard software in order to benefit from advantages e.g. high data integrity and data consistency (for master and transaction data), maintainability of systems and reduction of interfaces
  • Development of an integrated planning concept

J&M develops, together with their clients, a company-specific planning solution. The concept is aligned to the evaluation of the current situation as well as to corporate goals. Best practices and experience from various branches influence our conception.

Preparation of a Business Case

Based on the business case J&M evaluates benefits and costs of the project. Each approach for redesign and implementation of planning solutions are being aligned to company-specific facts and conditions.

IT and Planning Process Redesign

J&M analyses business processes in the area of planning, identifies important key processes from the redesign's point of view and develops harmonised planning processes based on SAP.

Implementation

In the implementation phase we focus on creative solutions for our clients, these enable a fast and effective realisation of the new planning processes with SAP BW/SEM-BPS, FI/CO and APO.

Contact Performance Management

Boris Reuter Dr. Boris Reuter
Partner

Integrierte Unternehmensplanung

Unternehmensspezifische Planungslösungen

Die bisher von Unternehmen genutzten Planungsmodelle halten aufgrund von veränderten Rahmenbedingungen den aktuellen Anforderungen nicht mehr stand. Insbesondere der jährliche Budgetierungsprozess ist ressourcen- und zeitintensiv und bindet Management-Kapazität. Er ist jedoch zu rigide, um schnelle Anpassungen zu ermöglichen; die Plandaten sind nach Abschluss der Budgetierung oft schon veraltet.

Hinzu kommt die fehlende Orientierung an der Unternehmensstrategie und den wesentlichen Unternehmens-Kennzahlen: Teilpläne (Absatz-, Umsatz-, Gemeinkostenpläne, usw.) sind unzureichend hierauf ausgerichtet und häufig wenig integriert. Eingesetzte Planungsinstrumentarien und -tools erfüllen kaum die Anforderungen, die eine komplexe und dynamische Planungsumgebung an sie stellt (z.B. Simulation und komfortable Planversionierung, Automatisierung von Routineplanungsaufgaben, rollierende Planung, Visualisierung von Ergebnissen).

Neue Steuerungs- und Performance Managementansätze wie Beyond Budgeting setzen hier an und fordern eine radikale Abkehr vom bisherigen Modell.

Der Beratungsansatz von J&M

J&M entwickelt mit seinen Klienten unternehmensspezifische Planungslösungen – zugeschnitten auf die Problemstellungen im Unternehmen. Ausgangsbasis sind dabei die Unternehmensziele und wesentliche Kennzahlen. Auf deren Basis werden innerhalb einer Balanced Scorecard Leistungsziele und Maßnahmen definiert, die zu konkreten operativen Vorgaben für die Teilpläne führen.

Wir entwickeln mit unseren Klienten ein integriertes Modell, das neben den logistischen Teilplänen auch die Ergebnis-, Bilanz- und Cashflow-Planung umfasst. Der Detaillierungsgrad der Teilpläne kann variieren; sie basieren jedoch auf einheitlichen durch die BSC vorgegebenen Prämissen. Dies fördert die Durchgängigkeit strategischer Ziele und verbessert die Kommunikation zwischen den Unternehmensbereichen.

Hinzu kommt eine dynamische Komponente: die Planung wird um einen quartalsmäßigen Rolling Forecast ergänzt, durch den aktuelle Veränderungen in der S&OP Planung in die Ergebnis- und Cashflow-Planung aufgenommen werden.

Bei der Umsetzung setzen wir auf Standard-Software (SAP BW, BW-BPS, SEM-CPM, Integration mit SAP R/3, APO), um deren Vorteile zu nutzen, wie z.B. hohe Datenkonsistenz und -integration, Anbindung von Drittsystemen über vordefinierte BAPIs, Releasesicherheit. BW-BPS überzeugt durch seine Rolle als Integrator, durch vordefinierte Planungsfunktionen und anwendungsfreundliche Frontends (Excel, WEB).

Das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Module ist dabei kundenspezifisch zu analysieren. Anhand des Business Case – bei Bedarf unterstützt durch die Erstellung einer Prototyp-Lösung – bewertet J&M Nutzen und Kosten des Projekts.

Benefits einer integrierten Unternehmensplanung

Profitieren Sie von den Vorteilen einer integrierten Unternehmensplanung – J&M unterstützt Sie beim Erreichen Ihrer Ziele mit ihrer Expertise und einem konsequenten Projektmanagement.

  • Effizienzsteigerung durch Verkürzung der Dauer und Verringerung der Kosten von Planungsprozessen,
  • Flexibilisierung durch Ermittlung der besten Planungstiefe (keine Detailbudgets in allen Bereichen) und Planungshorizonts (ggf. Übergang zur rollierenden Planung)
  • Synergieeffekte und Transparenz durch einheitliche Planungsmodelle quer über funktionale und Geschäftsbereichsgrenzen hinweg,
  • Verringerung des manuellen Planungs- und Abstimmungsaufwands durch Einsatz moderner Planungsinstrumente,
  • Abbildung der Planungsprozesse mit Standardsoftware, um Vorteile zu nutzen wie z.B. hohe Datenintegration und Datenkonsistenz (für Stamm- und Bewegungsdaten), Wartbarkeit der Systeme und Reduzierung von Schnittstellen.
  • Entwicklung eines integrierten Planungskonzepts

J&M entwickelt mit ihren Kunden unternehmensspezifische Planungslösungen. Das Konzept wird ganz nach der Bewertung der aktuellen Situation sowie den Unternehmenszielen ausgerichtet. Best Practice Ansätze und Erfahrungen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen fließen in unsere Konzeption ein.

Erstellung eines Business Case

Anhand des Business Case bewertet J&M Nutzen und Kosten des Projekts. Die einzelnen Vorgehensweisen zum Redesign und zur Implementierung der Planungslösung werden mit den unternehmensspezifischen Gegebenheiten und Voraussetzungen abgeglichen.

IT und Planungsprozess Redesign

J&M analysiert Geschäftsprozesse im Planungsbereich, identifiziert dabei die aus Sicht des Redesign wichtigen Kernprozesse und entwickelt harmonisierte, an SAP orientierte Planungsprozesse.

Implementierung

In der Implementierungsphase fokussieren wir uns auf kreative Lösung für unsere Klienten, die eine schnelle und wirkungsvolle Umsetzung der neuen Planungsprozesse mit SAP BW/SEM-BPS, FI/CO und mit APO ermöglichen.

Kontakt Performance Management

Boris Reuter Dr. Boris Reuter
Partner