IT Management

Value-oriented consulting from IT strategy to service operation

Fast changing business models, rapid developments at the technology market, increasing interconnectedness and closer integration of various fields of expertise require a flexible and dynamic IT. Due to the growing connectedness of cross-departmental and cross-company processes within complex value chains it is essential that IT systems can be mastered and run faultlessly. The value added by IT comes into focus when asking how IT can support company goals.

IT Management
IT Management

The management quite often lags behind the technological progress. This is mainly attributable to uncoordinated strategies, procedures and processes along the requirements of the departments and IT as respective service provider. A consistent IT management forms the basis of an effective and efficient use of IT in every company, starting from an aligned IT strategy to continuously optimize IT operations.

From the formulation of IT strategies and concepts to their implementation

As a long-term consulting partner of leading manufacturing companies, we transfer our industry knowledge as well as our competencies of methods and tools to our consulting approach within IT management with the following core topics:

  • IT strategy: Strategic actual analysis, strategy development including the development of alternatives, e.g. sourcing strategy, application strategy, strategy evaluation, strategy formulation and strategy implementation
  • IT governance: Draft and implementation of governance concepts, risk management, data security, KPI based IT controlling and monitoring
  • IT controlling:  Actual analysis of the IT cost structure, charging, KPI based controlling functions
  • Enterprise Architecture Management: Draft of enterprise architecture on the basis of strategic requirements of the management, requirements of the business and the respective IT strategy. Development of a roadmap to close the gap between target and actual architecture. Execution of IT planning and system landscape optimization, analysis and optimization of integration architecture. Support to the concept and implementation of enterprise architecture governance.
  • IT Service Management: Development of a framework for a customer-oriented and ITIL based (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) IT service management, definition and realization of optimized IT processes on the basis of performance SCANs, Lean IT Management, consulting of outsourcing-decisions, projects, merger processes, design of change processes, creation of ITSM performance catalogues, internal charging model
  • Program and Project Portfolio Management: Implementation of a value-oriented project portfolio steering, development of rules and procedures for placing project priorities

Sustainably strengthen added-value and decrease costs

We understand IT as an "organisation within an organisation" with a clear service provider understanding and a transparent service offering. This enables specific measuring and sustainable improvement of your value contribution.

Together with our clients we were able to achieve the following results:

  • Significant reduction of external IT service costs
  • Increased effectiveness and flexibility by adaptation of IT organisation
  • Heightened transparency and orientation for future company developments through IT strategy
  • Increased cost transparency and steering of IT cost structure
  • Customer oriented IT processes
  • Improved allocation of resources within IT service
  • Sustainable and continuous improvement of IT usage

Our approach within IT management aims at effective and determined results and accompanies our clients in organisational and structural changes.
 

"Although the timescale of seven weeks allotted for the project was very tight, J&M did a very professional job – the results of the IT strategy greatly exceeded our expectations. We expect to cooperate with J&M again when we implement the developed strategy."

Thomas Wienand, Head of IT

Thyssengas GmbH

IT Management

Wertorientierte Beratung von IT Strategie bis Service Operation

Sich schnell verändernde Geschäftsmodelle, rasante Entwicklungen am Technologiemarkt, zunehmende Vernetzung und engere Integration mit Fachbereichen erfordern eine flexible und dynamische IT. Die zunehmende Vernetzung von abteilungs- und unternehmensübergreifenden Prozessen in komplexen Value Chains setzt die Beherrschung perfekt eingeschwungener IT-Systeme voraus. Der Wertbeitrag der IT rückt zusehends in den Mittelpunkt bei der Frage, wie IT die Erreichung der Unternehmensziele bestmöglich unterstützen kann.

IT Management
IT Management

Oftmals hinken jedoch Organisation und Steuerung dem technologischen Fortschritt weit hinterher. Ursachen hierfür liegen zumeist in unabgestimmten Strategien, Vorgehensweisen und Prozessen zwischen den Anforderungen stellenden Fachbereichen und der IT als umsetzendem Dienstleister. Ein durchgängiges Management der IT, angefangen von einer abgestimmten IT Strategie bis hin zu kontinuierlich optimierten IT Betriebsprozessen, bildet die Basis für einen effektiven und effizienten Einsatz von IT in jedem Unternehmen.

Von der Ausarbeitung von IT-Strategien und -Konzepten bis zu deren Implementierung

Als langjähriger Beratungspartner führender Unternehmen der produzierenden Industrie übertragen wir unser Branchen-Know-how sowie unsere Kompetenz in Methoden und Tools auf unseren Beratungsansatz im IT Management mit folgenden Kernthemen:
  • IT Strategie: Strategische IST-Analyse, Strategieentwicklung mithilfe von Alternativenentwicklung, bspw. Sourcing-Strategie, Applikationsstrategie, Strategieevaluierung, Strategieformulierung, Strategieimplementierung
  • IT Governance: Entwurf und Implementierung des Governance Konzepts, Risiko-Management, Datensicherheit, KPI-basiertes IT Controlling und Monitoring
  • IT Controlling:  IST-Analyse der IT Kostenstruktur, Leistungsverrechnung, KPI-basierte Controlling-Funktionen
  • Enterprise Architecture Management: Entwurf einer Enterprise Architecture auf Basis strategischer Vorgaben des Managements, den Anforderungen des Business und der jeweiligen IT Strategie. Entwicklung einer Road Map zum Schließen der Lücke zwischen Soll und Ist-Architektur. Durchführung von IT Bebauungsplanungen und System Landscape Optimierungen, Analyse und Optimierung von Integrationsarchitekturen. Unterstützung bei der Konzeption und der Implementierung einer Enterprise Architecture Governance. 
  • IT Service Management: Gestaltung eines Frameworks für ein kundenorientiertes und ITIL basiertes (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) IT Service Management, Definition und Umsetzung optimaler IT Prozesse auf Grundlage eines Performance SCANs,  Lean IT Management, Beratung bei Outsourcing-Entscheidungen, -Projekten, Merger-Prozessen, Gestaltung Change Prozess, Erstellung von ITSM-Leistungskatalogen, interne Verrechnungsmodelle
  • Programm- und Projektportfolio Management: Einführung einer wertorientierten Projektportfoliosteuerung, Entwicklung von Verfahren und Regeln zur Vergabe von Projektprioritäten

Nachhaltig den Wertbeitrag steigern und Kosten senken 

Wir verstehen die IT als ein Unternehmen innerhalb eines Unternehmens mit einem klaren Dienstleisterverständnis und einem transparenten Serviceangebot. Das ermöglicht eine gezielte Messung und nachhaltige Verbesserung des von ihr geleisteten Wertbeitrages. Gemeinsam mit unseren Klienten konnten wir im IT Management bereits folgende Ergebnisse erreichen:
  • Signifikante Reduzierung der externen IT-Servicekosten
  • Gesteigerte Effektivität und Flexibilität durch Anpassung der IT Organisation
  • Erhöhte Transparenz und Orientierung für zukünftige Entwicklung des Unternehmens durch IT Strategie
  • Erhöhte Kostentransparenz und Steuerung der IT-Kostenstruktur.
  • Kundenorientierte IT-Prozesse 
  • Bessere Allokation von Ressourcen im IT Service
  • Nachhaltige und kontinuierliche Verbesserung des IT Einsatzes

Unser Vorgehen im IT Management ist darauf ausgelegt, zielstrebig und effektiv vereinbarte Ergebnisse zu erzielen und unsere Kunden bei der Umsetzung organisatorischer und struktureller Veränderungen zu begleiten.

„Obwohl der Zeitrahmen für das Projekt mit nur sieben Wochen sehr eng war, löste J&M die gestellte Aufgabe professionell – die Ergebnisse der IT-Strategie haben unsere Erwartungen deutlich übertroffen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass wir auch bei der Umsetzung der erarbeiteten Strategie wieder mit J&M zusammenarbeiten werden."

Thomas Wienand, IT-Leiter

Thyssengas GmbH