IT Strategie

Integrated consulting for the conception of IT strategies

IT strategies form the basis for the use and benefit of IT within all companies. In times of increasing business penetration of electronic media and functions, companies are advised to compose a master plan for IT-use. If this is not available, the vulnerable system of cooperation and interaction between business and IT becomes more and more inefficient. As a consequence, often uncoordinated (IT-) processes and technical diversification result in high expenses for operation. An integrated IT-strategy avoids this development.

Business policies and requirements on management and department level, as well as external factors, such as market, IT-trends and legal requirements form the context of an IT-strategy. The foundation encompasses how process-landscape of organisation, governance, architecture and IT is aligned, in order to accomplish company goals and value creation in the best possible way.

J&M assists companies in the process of establishing IT strategies

Our method for establishing an IT strategy is based on a clear planned structure and workflow-plan consisting of four steps:

  • Strategic actual-analysis: Scoping and planning, structured location determination by means of focus-interviews and workshops, screening and information supply, SWOT-analyses, data-analyses and evaluations
  • Strategy development: Target derivation from company-strategy, elaboration on strategic options and measures, elaboration on models for future IT configuration
  • Strategy evaluation: Detailed examination and evaluation of alternatives, creation of business cases, preparation of decision templates
  • Strategy formulation: Filling of measure-catalogue, development of outcome (document) for IT strategy, measure-planning within roadmap

After assessing the status quo, IT targets are developed from company strategy and guidelines for IT use are defined. Strategic alternatives are developed for fundamental questions, such as sourcing-strategy, application-strategy, IT governance and organization. Furthermore, strategic alternatives for implemented technology-platforms are developed, evaluated and led to decision. The identified measures for strategy-implementation are documented within an individual roadmap, which serves as directory for subsequent strategy-implementation.

Our clients benefit from a clear IT strategy

IT strategies ensure transparency within IT and a master plan for future orientation in the context of future development of the entire company. The implementation of identified optimisation-potentials, derived of an analysis, enables the increase of efficiency and reduction of IT-costs. Besides, a J&M research study about the benefit of IT-strategies revealed that the elaboration of these has a very positive impact on the alignment of business and IT.

J&M has realised sustainable improvements by the conception of IT-strategies for its clients:

  • Development of IT-strategy for a gas distributor, that serves as orientation for future decisions 
  • Reorganisation and consolidation of the global IT, as follow-up of three companies in the chemistry-industry and within the scope of IT Vision definition
  • Creation of transparency of IT-architecture, identification of system-risks, as well as elaboration on target architecture for optimising existing system-landscapes
  • Definition and introduction of governance mechanism for IT-steering and improving cooperation of business and IT of an energy-discounter

"Although the timeframe of the project was only seven weeks, J&M solved the task very professional and the results significantly exceeded our expectations. We assume that we will continue working with J&M when it comes to applying the strategy."

Thomas Wienand, Head of IT
Thyssengas GmbH

IT Strategie

Integrierte Beratung zur Konzeption von IT Strategien

IT Strategien bilden die Grundlage für den Einsatz und die Nutzung von IT in allen Unternehmen. In Zeiten der zunehmenden Durchdringung des Geschäfts mit elektronischen Medien und -Funktionen tun Unternehmen gut daran, sich einen Masterplan für den IT Einsatz zurecht zu legen. Liegt er nicht vor, wird das anfällige Geflecht aus Kooperation und Interaktion zwischen Business und IT ineffizient. Die Folge sind oftmals unabgestimmte (IT-) Prozesse, technische Diversifikation und infolge dessen hohe Aufwände für Betrieb und Weiterentwicklung der IT Architektur. Eine IT Strategie beugt dieser Entwicklung vor.

Vorgaben und Anforderungen des Business auf Management- und Fachbereichsebene sowie externe Faktoren wie Markt-, IT Trends und gesetzliche Vorgaben bilden den Kontext einer IT Strategie. In ihrem Kern wird festgeschrieben, wie Organisation, Governance, Architektur und die IT Prozesslandschaft ausgerichtet werden sollen, um bestmöglich zur Erreichung der Unternehmensziele sowie zur Wertschöpfung des Unternehmens beizutragen. 

J&M unterstützt Unternehmen bei der Erarbeitung von IT Strategien

Unsere Methodik zur Erstellung von IT Strategien basiert auf einer klaren inhaltlichen Struktur und einem Ablaufplan in vier Schritten:
  • Strategische IST-Analyse: Scoping und Planung, strukturierte Standortbestimmung mittels Fokusinterviews und Workshops, Screening und Informationsbeschaffung, SWOT-Analysen, Datenanalysen und Auswertungen
  • Strategieentwicklung: Zielableitung aus der Unternehmensstrategie, Ausarbeitung möglicher strategischer Optionen und Maßnahmen, Ausarbeitung von Modellen zur zukünftigen Ausgestaltung der IT
  • Strategieevaluierung: Detailuntersuchung und Bewertung von Alternativen, Erstellung von Business Cases, Ausarbeiten von Entscheidungsvorlagen 
  • Strategieformulierung: Füllen des Maßnahmenkatalogs, Ausarbeitung des Ergebnisdokuments zur IT Strategie, Planen von Maßnahmen in einer Roadmap
Nach einer Bestandsaufnahme werden die IT Ziele aus der Unternehmensstrategie abgeleitet und Leitlinien für den IT Einsatz definiert. Für die grundlegenden Fragestellungen wie Sourcing-Strategie, Applikationsstrategie, IT Governance und Organisation sowie den eingesetzten Technologieplattformen werden strategische Alternativen erarbeitet, bewertet und zu einer Entscheidung geführt. Die identifizierten Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung der Strategie werden in einer individuellen Roadmap dokumentiert, welche als Wegweiser für die anschließende Strategieimplementierung dient.

Unsere Klienten profitieren von einer klaren IT Strategie

IT Strategien sorgen für Transparenz in der IT und einen Masterplan für die zukünftige Ausrichtung im Kontext der Weiterentwicklung des Gesamtunternehmens. Die Umsetzung der in der Analyse identifizierten Optimierungspotenziale ermöglicht die Steigerung der Effizienz und die Reduktion der IT Kosten. Eine Studie von J&M Research zum Nutzen von IT Strategien hat zudem gezeigt, dass deren Ausarbeitung sich insbesondere positiv auf das Alignment von Business und IT auswirkt.
Durch die Konzeption von IT-Strategien hat J&M für seine Klienten bereits nachhaltige Verbesserungen erzielt:
  • Entwicklung einer IT-Strategie für einen Gastransporteur, die bei zukünftigen Entscheidungen als Orientierung dient 
  • Neuausrichtung und Konsolidierung einer globalen IT als Nachfolge dreier Unternehmen der Chemiebranche im Rahmen der Definition der IT Vision 
  • Schaffung von Transparenz in der IT Architektur, Identifikation von Systemrisiken sowie Ausarbeitung von Zielbebauungsplänen zur Optimierung der bestehenden Systemlandschaft
  • Definition und Einführung von Governance Mechanismen zur Steuerung der IT und zur Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Business und IT bei einem Energiediscounter