LEAN SCM

J&M combines Lean Thinking with SCM

On the basis of our many years of SCM experience encompassing more than 50 SCM projects which have been successfully carried out in Europe, J&M has designed a consulting approach which combines the successful lean approach with the SCM philosophy. The J&M Lean SCM Approach introduces companies to J&M's integrated Lean Thinking and SCM philosophy. We are there to help you all the way during the transformation to a lean supply chain – from organization to processes to IT.

What is the difference between SCM and Lean Thinking?

Both approaches share the common principle of regarding the value chain in its entirety and gearing the chain to ensure that customer needs are met as well and as efficiently as possible. SCM places a major focus on determining all boundary conditions (capacity, availability of material, throughput times) and on deterministic planning for meeting requirements via the supply chain. The structure of the supply chain and the boundary conditions for the value creation processes are essentially taken as they stand. So-called advanced planning systems such as, e.g. SAP APO, create viable plans as to how the existing supply chain may be operated as effectively as possible. In industrial practice, SCM is restricted to the optimal operating of existing structures and concentrates less on optimizing the structure itself. Lean Thinking, however, questions and optimizes existing structures.

When the lean approach is applied, the value chain is reorganized in such a manner that only those process steps which actually generate value for the customer are left. The focus is on the product and its needs, rather than the organization or the equipment, so that all the activities needed to design, order, and provide a product occur in continuous flow. The third stage of a lean transformation involves the consistent application of the pull principle: the customer puts in a request for products before they are produced and conversely only the exact quantity required by the customer is then produced. This leads to the creation of self-controlling, optimized feedback loops which produce more value for the customers with less muda.

Benefits of Lean SCM

  • Competitive advantages thanks to flexibilization of the supply chain.
  • Reduced costs thanks to a physical adaptation of the supply chain within the framework of the alteration processes.
  • Increased efficiency thanks to consistent coordination of the organisation and the changing processes and the introduction of teamwork and improvement programs (Kaizen).
  • Development of a Lean SCM concept
    J&M works for and with their clients to develop company-specific Lean SCM concepts combining the advantages of Lean Thinking and Supply Chain Management. J&M calculates a customer-specific business case and demonstrates the benefits entailed by change projects.
  • Implementation of an integrated planning and production system
    Based on the concepts behind advanced planning and the Toyota production system, the optimal number of planning levels is determined and the processes reengineered. A tailored training programme helps the staff keep up to speed with this process.
  • Value stream mapping
    J&M supports their clients during continual improvement processes, among others in identifying and redefining the value flows within the company based on the supply chain strategy.
  • Visual management
    On a strategic level, J&M supports their clients when introducing a supply chain balanced scorecard for operationalizing the strategy. Visual management is introduced in order to break down targets and key performance indicators to the level of the production processes.
  • Implementation of continuous improvement processes
    Using the Enable-KPI-Value® Network method developed by J&M, the effects of the measures which have been implemented can be determined and support can be provided for further measures and the implementation of continuous improvement processes.

IT-Consulting

  • IT & process design
    Based on the results of the value stream mapping, the IT architecture is revised and adjusted to coordinate optimally with the requirements of the Lean SCM environment.
  • Implementation
    Lean SCM requires a dynamic link between planning and transaction systems. J&M can assist you with the implementation of an appropriate advanced planning system and integration into the existing transaction systems.
  • Go live & rollout
    J&M takes the KPI's determined using the business case and the Enabler-KPI-Value®-Network method to keep a check on the benefits of the implemented processes and systems during the rollout.

Contact SCM

Dieter Bölzing Dr.-Ing. Dieter Bölzing
Partner

LEAN SCM

J&M kombiniert LEAN Thinking mit SCM

Auf Basis unserer langjährigen SCM-Erfahrung mit mehr als 50 erfolgreich durchgeführten SCM-Projekten in Europa hat J&M einen Beratungsansatz konzipiert, der den erfolgreichen LEAN-Ansatz mit der Philosophie von SCM kombiniert. Der J&M LEAN SCM Ansatz führt Unternehmen ein in die integrierte LEAN Thinking- und SCM-Philosophie von J&M. Wir begleiten und unterstützen Sie bei der Transformation in eine LEAN Supply Chain – von der Organisation über die Prozesse bis hin zur IT.

Worin unterscheiden sich SCM und LEAN Thinking?

Beiden Ansätzen gemeinsam sind die ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Wertschöpfungskette und die Ausrichtung der Kette auf die optimierte Erfüllung des Kundenbedarfs. SCM fokussiert dabei stark auf die Erfassung sämtlicher Randbedingungen (Kapazität, Materialverfügbarkeit, Durchlaufzeiten) sowie die deterministische Planung der Bedarfserfüllung durch die Supply Chain. Die Struktur der Supply Chain und die Randbedingungen für die Wertschöpfungsprozesse werden dabei im Wesentlichen als gegeben angenommen. Sogenannte Advanced Planning Systeme wie bspw. SAP APO erzeugen machbare Pläne, um die vorhandene Supply Chain möglichst optimiert zu betreiben. SCM beschränkt sich in der industriellen Praxis auf die optimale Bewirtschaftung bestehender Strukturen, weniger auf die Optimierung der Struktur. LEAN Thinking hingegen hinterfragt und optimiert bestehende Strukturen.

Durch Anwendung des LEAN-Ansatzes wird die Wertschöpfungskette derart neu organisiert, indem nur noch die notwendigen Prozess-Schritte verbleiben, die tatsächlich einen Wert für den Kunden generieren. Dabei konzentriert man sich auf das Produkt und seine Bedürfnisse statt auf die Organisation oder das Equipment, so dass alle erforderlichen Aktivitäten für Konstruktion, die Auftragsabwicklung und Bereitstellung eines Produktes in einem kontinuierlichen Fluss ablaufen. Im dritten Schritt einer LEAN Transformation wird das Pull-Prinzip konsequent angewendet: Der Kunde ruft Produkte ab, bevor sie produziert werden, und umgekehrt werden nur genau die Mengen produziert, die der Kunde benötigt. Hierdurch entstehen sich selbststeuernde, optimierte Regelkreise, die mit weniger Muda mehr Werte für den Kunden produzieren.

Benefits von LEAN SCM

  • Wettbewerbsvorteile durch eine Flexibilisierung der Supply Chain.
  • Kostenreduktion durch eine physische Anpassung der Supply Chain im Rahmen der Veränderungsprozesse.
  • Effizienzsteigerung durch eine konsequente Abstimmung der Organisation auf die sich verändernden Prozesse und die Einführung von Teamarbeit und Verbesserungsprogramme (Kaizen).

Entwicklung eines LEAN SCM Konzeptes

J&M entwickelt für und mit seinen Klienten unternehmensspezifische LEAN SCM-Konzepte, welche die Vorteile von LEAN Thinking und Supply Chain Management kombinieren. Dabei kalkuliert J&M kundenspezifisch einen Business Case und zeigt die Vorteile von Veränderungsprojekten auf.

  • Implementierung eines integrierten Planungs- und Produktionssystems
    Basierend auf den Konzepten des Advanced Planning und des Toyota Produktionssystems wird die optimale Planungstiefe bestimmt und ein Reengineering der Prozesse durchgeführt. Ein abgestimmtes Trainingsangebot begleitet die Mitarbeiter bei diesem Prozess.
  • Value Stream Mapping
    J&M unterstützt seine Klienten bei kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozessen, u.a. bei der Identifikation und Neudefinition der Werteflüsse des Unternehmens auf Basis der Supply Chain Strategie.
  • Visuelles Management
    Auf strategischer Ebene unterstützt J&M seine Klienten mit der Einführung einer Supply Chain Balanced Scorecard zur Operationalisierung der Strategie. Visuelles Management wird eingeführt, um die Ziele und Key Performance Indicators bis hinunter in den Produktionsprozess herunterzubrechen.
  • Umsetzung kontinuierlicher Verbesserungsprozesse
    Mittels der von J&M entwickelten Enable-KPI-Value® Network-Methode werden die Auswirkungen der durchgeführten Maßnahmen ermittelt und der weitere Aufbau und die Umsetzung kontinuierlicher Verbesserungsprozesse unterstützt.

IT- und Prozessdesign

Auf Basis der Ergebnisse des Value Stream Mappings, wird die IT Architektur neu geplant und optimal an die Anforderungen der LEAN SCM-Umgebung angepasst.

  • Implementierung
    LEAN SCM erfordert eine dynamische Verbindung von Planungs- und Transaktionssystemen. J&M unterstützt Sie bei der Implementierung eines geeigneten Advanced Planning Systems und bei der Integration in die vorhandenen Transaktionssysteme.
  • Produktivsetzung & Rollout
    Mit den anhand der Business Case & Enabler-KPI-Value®-Network-Methode ermittelten KPIs kontrolliert J&M während des Rollouts den Nutzen der implementierten Prozesse und Systeme.
     

Kontakt SCM

Dieter Bölzing Dr.-Ing. Dieter Bölzing
Partner