Manufacturing Excellence

Integrated Consulting for effective and efficient manufacturing processes

Technological innovations, new legal framework or changing expectations of customer and consumer influence the environment of industrial companies. In order to be able to act effectively and efficiently, organisation, processes and IT tools have to be adapted adequately. Changing market conditions are creating an area of tension, which production planning and controlling is also permanently exposed to.

In this area of tension, agile companies achieve significant advantages in competition. This proves, that a flexible and adaptive process and IT architecture which is aligned to the concerns of production planning, is key to corporate success.

Partner from analysis to implementation

J&M has comprehensive experience in conception and implementation of manufacturing excellence programs and additionally has developed its own methods, resources and tools to support the implementation. We initiate the analysis with a scan of processes and organisation of production planning as well as of the surrounding Supply Chain including its IT support. Therefore we determine requirements, gaps and activity fields.

The solution conception considers essential influencing factors:

  • Increase of flexibility: Increased customer orientation demands short-term changes of production programs or individual products in consideration of time and budget
  • Reduction of internal frictional loss: Improvement of coordination between development, production, distribution and material management (production planning, short-term order changes, material supply etc.)
  • Reactions to increased cost pressure: Optimisation of unit costs, overhead costs, inventory costs, work in progress, lead time, facility efficiency and quality costs

In consideration of all boundary conditions we create a tailored process landscape for production and production logistics with suitable IT architecture consisting of elements of ERP, APS and MES systems like reporting components.

Together with our clients we develop a concrete target structure and a timetable for an implementation. The job for J&M does not end until the successful implementation of an overall solution is completed. We transform strategies and concepts reliably into the business process of our clients.

We create sustainable value for our clients

In production and logistics a perfect meshing of planning, organisation, processes and IT is decisive. Combined with transparency this leads to more efficiency and flexibility in order to stay competitive.

J&M has already achieved sustainable improvements together with their clients:

  • Reduction of lead time by 50 %
  • Reduction of logistics costs by 35 %
  • Decrease of work in progress by 60 %
  • Reduction of planning horizon from 3 weeks to 5 days
  • Reduction of effort for variant production, spare part management and change processes by 20 %

Managing Partner

Christoph Kilger Dr. Christoph Kilger
Managing Partner

Manufacturing Excellence

Integrierte Beratung für effektive und effiziente Produktionsprozesse

Technologische Innovationen, neue rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen oder veränderte Erwartungen von Kunden und Konsumenten beeinflussen das Umfeld eines Industrieunternehmens. Um weiterhin effektiv und effizient handeln zu können, müssen Organisation, Prozesse sowie IT-Werkzeuge adäquat angepasst werden. Veränderte Marktbedingungen bilden ein Spannungsfeld, dem auch Produktionsplanung und -steuerung permanent ausgesetzt sind.

Agile Unternehmen erzielen in diesem Spannungsfeld enorme Wettbewerbsvorteile. Hier zeigt sich, dass eine auf die Belange der Produktionsplanung ausgerichtete flexible und adaptive Prozess- und IT-Architektur ein Schlüssel zum wirtschaftlichen Erfolg ist.

Partner von der Analyse bis zur Umsetzung

J&M hat umfangreiche Erfahrungen in Konzeption und Umsetzung von Manufacturing Excellence Programmen und hat dazu eigene Methoden, Hilfsmittel und Tools zur Unterstützung der Umsetzung entwickelt. Wir starten die Analyse mit einem Scan von Prozessen und Organisation der Produktionsplanung sowie der umgebenden Supply Chain inklusive deren IT-technischer Unterstützung. Dabei ermitteln wir die Anforderungen, Lücken und Handlungsfelder.

Die Lösungskonzeption berücksichtigt wesentliche Einflussfaktoren:

  • Erhöhung der Flexibilität: Verstärkte Kundenorientierung verlangt kurzfristige Änderungen an Produktionsprogrammen oder einzelnen Produkten unter Beachtung des Termin- und Kostenrahmens
  • Reduzierung interner Reibungsverluste: Verbesserung der Abstimmung zwischen Entwicklung, Produktion, Vertrieb und Materialwirtschaft (Produktionsplanung, kurzfristige Auftragsänderungen, Materialbereitstellung etc.)
  • Reaktionen auf erhöhten Kostendruck: Optimierung von Stückkosten, Gemeinkosten, Bestandskosten, Work in Progress, Durchlaufzeiten, Anlageneffizienz und Qualitätskosten

Unter Beachtung aller Randbedingungen erstellen wir für Produktion und Produktionslogistik eine kundenindividuelle Prozesslandschaft mit passender IT-Architektur, bestehend aus Elementen von ERP-, APS- und MES-Systemen sowie Reporting-Bausteinen.

Gemeinsam mit dem Kunden entsteht so eine konkrete Zielstruktur sowie ein Fahrplan zur Umsetzung. Die Aufgabe für J&M endet erst mit der erfolgreichen Implementierung der Gesamtlösung. Wir transformieren Strategien und Konzepte zuverlässig in die Geschäftsprozesse unserer Kunden.

Wir schaffen nachhaltigen Wert für unsere Kunden

In Produktion und Logistik ist das perfekte Ineinandergreifen von Planung, Organisation, Prozessen und IT entscheidend. Gekoppelt mit Transparenz führt dies zu mehr Effizienz und Flexibilität um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.

J&M hat gemeinsam mit seinen Kunden bereits nachhaltige Verbesserungen erzielt:

  • Reduktion der Durchlaufzeit um 50 %
  • Reduktion der Logistikkosten um 35 %
  • Senkung des Work in Progress um 60 %
  • Verkürzung des Planungshorizontes von 3 Wochen auf 5 Tage
  • Reduktion der Aufwände für Variantenfertigung, Ersatzteilmanagement und Änderungsprozesse um 20 %

Managing Partner

Christoph Kilger Dr. Christoph Kilger
Managing Partner