Pricing

Increasing profit with the right price management

Particularly in mass markets and commodity markets, margins are decreasing. The perceived strong price pressure makes companies almost only orientate themselves at the prices of their competitors. They also stick to outdated cost-plus-methods instead of aligning their prices at market potentials and profit optimisation. Often, the company strategy is unclear: Is it all about increasing margins or about defending sales and market shares?

Companies often do not know the profit potentials of customers, applications and products and consequently do not fully make use of them. A systematic price management finds only rarely its way into today's practice. Instead many companies create complex price management and conditions systems, allowing little transparency in terms of profit per customer, application and product.  

Professional pricing consulting is fast, intensive and integrated

Pricing projects with J&M are characterised by high pace and convincing results. Within only ten weeks a project can be completed including implementation, training and coaching "on the project". We carry out projects with a high success oriented share of up to 50 percent. International experienced change agents ensure that changes are supported by all parties involved. On request J&M accompanies the implementation of the new pricing concept up to the negotiation with the customer. Our pricing consulting portfolio includes amongst others:

  • Development of  profit-optimised price strategies
  • Design of an integrated lifecycle price management
  • Analysis of price competition
  • Operational optimisation of pricing for the whole product and service portfolio
  • Definition of customer and market segmentation for differentiation with the help of an integrated pricing and SCM strategy
  • Analysis and implementation of profit optimal products, services, packages and solutions
  • Development of strategies for price communication
  • Design of approaches for profit optimised inventory and capacity pricing
  • Benchmarking and performance-oriented pricing and conditions systems
  • Analysis, optimisation and harmonisation of price controlling, including definition of KPIs and design & implementation of pricing dashboards
  • Concept of price negotiation tools and argumentation guidelines for sales employees

Measurable results speak for themselves  

With integrated pricing solutions numerous J&M clients could improve their revenue and EBIT. Price setting is carried out faster and more systematically today, thus the clients achieve a higher price quality and consistency. In addition, better price communication provides higher customer satisfaction. Pricing optimisations allow the following measurable results:

  • EBIT improvement of up to 2.5-% within only three months
  • Sales increase by 10-% through an revised price strategy
  • Decrease of share of unprofitable customers by 10-%
  • Reduction of preparation time for price negotiations by 50-% on average
  • Reduction of preliminary lead time for price list adaptations by 70-%
  • Achieved price increases by up to 10-%
  • Discount and bonus decreases by up to 30-%
"The approach from J&M was to listen and encourage us to take our own decisions and decide our own targets. They were not imposing or pushing "unreachable" targets, as many other consulting firms that I have come across. The overall best thing about the project was the fact that it gave us all the opportunity to look at our own activity with totally new eyes and allowing us to spend time on issues that may not be prioritized due to the hassle of the day-to-day business."

Taina Ekström, Marketing Director Sweden

Saint-Gobain Isover

"The good results of our pricing and sales project with J&M have been fully accepted. J&M had really innovative and pragmatic suggestions, tools and solutions that will help to improve our processes. Thanks to the J&M team's experience with international and change projects the project could be conducted within two and a half months."

Dr. Ulrich Hüllmann, CEO

GEA Farm Technologies GmbH

Pricing

Mit dem richtigen Preismanagement den Gewinn steigern

Gerade in Massen- und Commodity-Märkte sinken die Margen. Der vermeintlich starke Preisdruck führt dazu, dass Unternehmen sich fast nur noch an den Preisen der Wettbewerber orientieren und an veralteten Kosten-Plus-Methoden festhalten statt ihr Pricing an  Potenzialen und  Gewinnoptimierung auszurichten. Oft ist auch die Unternehmensstrategie unklar: Geht es um eine Stärkung der Margen oder um die Verteidigung von Umsatz und Marktanteilen?

Gewinnpotenziale bei Kunden und Produkten sind den Unternehmen häufig unbekannt und bleiben folglich ungenutzt. Ein systematisches Pricing hält nur selten Einzug in die betriebliche Praxis. Stattdessen schaffen viele Unternehmen komplexe Preis- und Konditionensysteme, die wenig Transparenz hinsichtlich Gewinn je Kunde und Produkt zulassen.

Mit professioneller Pricing-Beratung das Preismanagement schnell, intensiv und integriert verbessern

Die Pricing-Beratung von J&M zeichnet sich durch ein hohes Tempo und überzeugende Ergebnisse aus. In nur zehn Wochen kann ein Pricing-Projekt inklusive Implementierung, Training und Coaching „on the project" abgeschlossen sein. Wir führen Projekte mit einem hohen erfolgsabhängigen Anteil von bis zu 50 Prozent durch. International erfahrene Change Agents sorgen dafür, dass die Veränderungen von allen Beteiligten mitgetragen werden. Auf Wunsch begleitet J&M die Umsetzung des neuen Pricing-Konzepts bis zur Verhandlung mit den Kunden. Unser Portfolio in der Pricing-Beratung umfasst unter anderem:  

  • Erarbeitung von Ansätzen zur gewinnoptimalen strategischen Neuausrichtung
  • Konzeption eines integrierten Lifecycle-Preismanagement
  • Analyse des Preiswettbewerbs und operative Optimierung des Pricing für das gesamte Produktportfolio
  • Definition einer Kunden- und Marktsegmentierung zur Differenzierung mithilfe einer integrierten Preis- und SCM Strategie
  • Analyse und Implementierung von gewinnoptimalen Bündeln, Services, Paketen und Lösungen
  • Erarbeitung von Strategien zur Preiskommunikation
  • Ausgestaltung von Ansätzen zum gewinnoptimierten Inventory und Capacity Pricing
  • Benchmarking und performanceorientierte Überarbeitung und Einführung von Preis- und Konditionensystemen
  • Analyse, Optimierung und Harmonisierung des Preiscontrollings, inkl. Definition von KPI und Design & Umsetzung von Pricing Dashboards
  • Entwurf von Preisverhandlungs-Werkzeugen und Argumentationsleitfäden für Vertriebsmitarbeiter

Messbare Ergebnisse, die für sich sprechen

Dank integrierter Pricing-Beratung haben zahlreiche Klienten von J&M ihren Umsatz und ihr EBIT verbessern können. Die Preissetzung erfolgt heute schneller und systematischer. Dadurch erzielen die Unternehmen eine höhere Preisqualität und -konsistenz. Eine bessere Preiskommunikation sorgt für eine größere Kundenzufriedenheit. Pricing-Optimierungen ermöglichen folgende messbare Ergebnisse:

  • Verbesserung des EBIT um bis zu 2,5 %-Punkte in nur drei Monaten
  • Steigerung des Umsatzes um 10 % durch eine angepasste Preisstrategie
  • Senkung des Anteils unprofitabler Kunden um 10 %
  • Verkürzung der Vorbereitungszeit für Preisverhandlungen um durchschnittlich 50 %
  • Senkung der Vorlaufzeit für Preislistenanpassung um 70 %
  • Durchgesetzte Preiserhöhungen um bis zu 10 %
  • Rabatt- und Bonussenkungen um bis zu 30 %
„Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass unser Unternehmen nicht nur in Bezug auf eine Verbesserung unseres Gewinns, sondern auch langfristig von dem Projektansatz und den Projektergebnissen profitiert. Durch Prozessoptimierung mit neuen Methoden im wertbasierten Verkauf und durch die Einführung von innovativen Marketingzielen werden wir weiter wachsen, uns gezielter spezialisieren und unsere Marktführerschaft in Polen festigen."

Benedykt Kordula, Finance Director

Saint-Gobain Construction Products Poland

„Die guten Ergebnisse unseres Pricing- und Vertriebsprojekts mit J&M stießen auf große Akzeptanz. J&M hatte wirklich innovative und pragmatische Vorschläge, Tools und Lösungen, die dabei helfen werden unsere Prozesse zu verbessern. Dank des international und im Veränderungsmanagement erfahrenen J&M Projektteams führten wir das Projekt in zweieinhalb Monaten durch."

Dr. Ulrich Hüllmann, CEO

GEA Farm Technologies