Operational Excellence

Excellence throughout the entire value chain brings long-term success

It is a challenge to make lasting excellence the focus of the entire value chain – from product development right through to accounting. The failure of Operational Excellence or LEAN initiatives to achieve the desired effects may be down to a number of different reasons:

  • Existing methods such as LEAN or Six Sigma have only been applied sporadically.
  • Value chain analysis was not comprehensive enough.
  • Available IT know-how was insufficient for the integrated implementation of the measures identified.
  • Insufficient consideration was given to change management, which is a significant factor in practical implementation and can be the key to a successful project.

Methods and IT competence as guarantors for success

The Operational Excellence model developed by J&M incorporates established LEAN management methods alongside elements taken from Six Sigma and the Supply Chain Operation Reference model (SCOR model). It conducts integrated analysis of corporate value chains and combines process expertise with IT know-how. Our experience in the field of change management supports the lasting implementation of the approaches and processes developed.

Value chain optimisation using all-embracing value flow analysis

The first phase sees the existing process comprehensively documented using a value flow analysis. A supporting data recording measure is used to identify and deliberate any potential which may be taken advantage of straight away. Even at this early stage, a number of immediate measures are usually carried out in order to achieve initial process improvements. Once the existing situation has been documented a target value flow is then defined, with simulations used where required. A comparison between the existing and target situations paves the way for the definition of specific projects and the integration thereof into a project roadmap.

LEAN management methods tend to be used to optimise flow times and inventories and eliminate transparency deficits and classic forms of waste. Specific problems such as insufficient availability or poor process performance can be solved using the Six Sigma method. J&M's comprehensive SAP competence facilitates the definition of any key values required and the provision of support during technical sections of the implementation phase. Relevant client employees are trained and coached parallel to the project.

Lasting results – the perfect yardstick for J&M services

The J&M Operational Excellence approach combines the methods of LEAN Management, Six Sigma and Supply Chain Management. It not only guarantees successful, lasting implementation on both a process and IT level, but also ensures a swift return on investment. Typical project results include:

  • Flow time reductions of up to 70 %
  • OEE improvements of 20 % and above
  • Waste reductions of up to 50 %
  • Lasting reductions of up to 80 % in WIP inventories

Contact Operational Excellence

Frank Müller Frank Müller
Director

Operational Excellence

Excellence entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette sichert nachhaltigen Erfolg

Es ist eine Herausforderung, die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette – von der Produktentwicklung bis zur Rechnungsstellung eines Unternehmens – nachhaltig auf Excellence auszurichten. Wenn Operational Excellence oder LEAN Initiativen nicht den gewünschten Effekt zeigen, kann das unterschiedliche Gründe haben:

  • Die existierenden Methoden wie LEAN oder Six Sigma wurden nur einzeln angewendet
  • Die Betrachtung der Wertschöpfungskette erfolgte nicht ganzheitlich
  • Das IT Know-how fehlte für die integrierte Umsetzung identifizierter Maßnahmen
  • Auch Management of Change spielt bei der Umsetzung in der Praxis eine große Rolle und kann ein Grund für das Ausbleiben des Erfolgs sein

Methoden- und IT-Kompetenz als Erfolgsgarantie

Das von J&M entwickelte Business Operational Excellence Modell integriert die anerkannten Methoden des LEAN Management mit denen von Six Sigma und dem Supply Chain Operation Reference Modell (SCOR-Modell). Dabei wird die Wertschöpfungskette von Unternehmen integriert betrachtet und Prozess- mit IT-Know-how verknüpft. Die Erfahrungen im Management of Change helfen, die entwickelten Ansätze und Prozesse nachhaltig zu implementieren.

Eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Wertstroms optimiert die Wertschöpfungskette

Zunächst wird mit Hilfe einer Wertstromanalyse der Ist-Prozess ganzheitlich erhoben. Durch eine flankierende Datenaufnahme werden unmittelbar Potenziale identifiziert und abgestimmt. Üblicherweise erfolgen bereits in diesem frühen Stadium Sofortmaßnahmen, die zu einer ersten Prozessverbesserung führen. Nach dieser Ist-Aufnahme wird im Anschluss ein Soll-Wertstrom definiert, der im Bedarfsfall simuliert wird. Durch einen Soll-Ist-Abgleich werden die einzelnen Projekte definiert und in einer Projekt-Roadmap abgebildet.

Typischerweise werden mit LEAN Management Methoden Durchlaufzeiten und Bestände optimiert sowie Transparenzdefizite und klassische Verschwendung eliminiert. Detailprobleme, wie hohe Ausschussraten, eine mangelhafte Verfügbarkeit oder schlechte Prozessperformance können mit Hilfe der Six Sigma Methode gelöst werden. J&M verfügt über eine umfangreiche SAP-Kompetenz, die es ermöglicht, erforderliche Kennzahlen bereitzustellen und die technische Realisierung in der Umsetzungsphase zu unterstützen. Parallel zum Projektverlauf werden die Mitarbeiter geschult und gecoacht.

Dauerhafte Ergebnisse – Wir lassen uns daran messen

Der Business Operational Excellence  Ansatz von J&M verbindet die Ansätze von LEAN Management, Six Sigma und Supply Chain Management. Er garantiert eine nachhaltig erfolgreiche Implementierung auf Prozess- und IT-Ebene und einen schnellen Return on Investment. Typische Projektergebnisse sind dabei:

  • Reduktion der Durchlaufzeit um bis zu 70 %
  • Verbesserung der Gesamtanlageneffizienz (OEE) um 20 % und mehr
  • Reduktion des Ausschusses um bis zu 50 %
  • Dauerhafte Absenkung der Umlaufbestände um bis zu 80 %

Kontakt Operational Excellence

Frank Müller Frank Müller
Director