Strategic Direction Setting

Developing and pursuing the optimal business strategy

Periods of unprecedented global change – characterised as they are by shifting client requirements, new competitors and technical innovations – require the continuous revision and realignment of corporate strategy. The aim of required measures to cope with these challenges is to ensure that the entire organisation keeps up with the pace of change and does not become overstretched.

Changing business environments can necessitate the fundamental reorientation of business operations, the introduction of new transaction models in order to increase performance or "simply" the continued re-design of existing approaches. This applies not only to corporate activities, but also to any new business identified or integrated.

The following question is therefore of integral importance: on the basis of the implementation of efficient – and at the same time differentiated – processes, which markets and clients are to be provided with which products and services via which distribution channels and from which locations? Corporate strategy is inseparably linked to typical supply chain strategy issues.

Optimum orientation of all corporate strategy factors

J&M Business Strategy Consulting Services offer companies the chance to benefit from the expertise we have gained over many years of providing strategic consulting to industrial companies. The integrated approach we use to overcome the challenges mentioned above deals with five different aspects of corporate orientation: strategic orientation, performance management, IT & enabling technologies, processes & organisation and management of change. Long-term corporate success can be achieved through the optimisation of the interplay between these aspects. J&M consulting focuses on the following issues:

  • Strategic reorientation: fundamental corporate orientation and setup; product marketing strategies; determination of relevant success criteria for improvements in corporate performance.
  • Short-term business optimisation: identification, initiation and implementation of fast-acting courses of action within the strategic context.
  • Restructuring and post merger integration: Further development of existing business models; redesign/optimisation of business processes in combination with acquisitions and/or disinvestment.
  • Profitability and complexity management: systematic development of operational corporate profitability drivers; business risk assessment; improved complexity management and complexity reduction.
  • Optimisation of corporate business management: establishment of a set of appropriate early warning indicators; timely identification of market changes; improvement in the quality of operational decisions.

The result: an organisation set up for success

Working in partnership with our clients, past projects have seen J&M consultants achieve significant improvements. The following list presents a selection of the tangible results achieved:

  • Identification of attractive existing and new business segments, appropriate positioning
  • Reductions in unit and combined costs achieved by identifying cost drivers and eliminating cost factors
  • Increased product quality and an 85 % reduction in waste
  • Increased IT infrastructure performance
  • Drawing up of future-proof logistics strategies.
"The well-founded development, assessment and selection of supply chain scenarios gave us a sense of confidence that we are pushing forward in the right direction and are optimally set up for the future ahead."

Heinrich Becker, Head of European Logistics Management

Hilti AG

"The level of expertise and professionalism at J&M impressed us. We will continue to work with J&M on strategic challenges and the optimisation of our logistics operations in the future."

Ulrich Dickow, Head of Logistics

tegut… Gruppe

"Our production and sales & marketing divisions now have an overview of all production steps and sub-projects. We are therefore able to react to any delays in good time. Another stand-out result is that we are now in a position to reduce our inventories."

Stefan Schmid, Head of Logistics Planning (TLE)

MTU Aero Engines GmbH

Contact Business Strategy

Dieter Bölzing Dr.-Ing. Dieter Bölzing
Partner

Strategieberatung

Die optimale Geschäftsstrategie entwickeln und verfolgen

In Zeiten des schnellen globalen Wandels – gekennzeichnet durch sich verändernde Kundenanforderungen, neue Wettbewerber und technische Innovationen – ist die langfristige Unternehmensstrategie immer wieder zu überprüfen und anzupassen. Dabei gilt es sicherzustellen, dass sich das gesamte Unternehmen aktiv auf die Zukunft einstellt und nicht überfordert wird.

Veränderte Rahmenbedingungen erfordern eine fundamentale Neuausrichtung der Geschäftsaktivitäten, eine Leistungssteigerung durch neue Formen der Geschäftsabwicklung oder „nur" die konsequente Weiterentwicklung bestehender Ansätze. Dies betrifft sowohl die bestehende Unternehmung als auch die Identifikation oder Integration von akquirierten Geschäften.

Dabei geht es um die Frage: Welche Märkte und Kunden, welche Produkte und Services sollen über welche Vertriebskanäle aus welchen Standorten unter Einsatz leistungsfähiger, aber differenzierter Prozesse bedient werden? Die Geschäftsstrategie ist untrennbar mit den typischen Fragestellungen der Supply Chain Strategie verbunden.

Von der strategischen Neuausrichtung bis zur optimierten Geschäftssteuerung

Mit den Business Strategy Consulting Services von J&M nutzen Unternehmen unsere langjährige Expertise bei der strategischen Beratung von Industrie- und Handelsunternehmen. Der integrierte Ansatz von J&M für die Lösung der genannten Fragestellungen richtet sich dabei auf die Ausrichtung des Unternehmens in fünf Gestaltungsdimensionen, die in ihrem Zusammenwirken den langfristigen Unternehmenserfolg ermöglichen: Strategische Ausrichtung, Performance Management, IT & Enabling Technologie, Prozesse & Organisation sowie Management of Change. Die Beratungsschwerpunkte von J&M sind:

  • Strategische Neuausrichtung: Grundsätzliche Ausrichtung und Aufstellung des Unternehmens, Produkt-Markt-Strategien, Erarbeitung relevanter Erfolgsfaktoren für die Steigerung der Unternehmensleistung
  • Kurzfristige Geschäftsoptimierung: Identifikation, Einleitung und Umsetzung schnell wirksamer Schritte im strategischen Kontext
  • Restrukturierung und Post Merger Integration: Weiterentwicklung bestehender Geschäftsmodelle und die Neugestaltung bzw. Optimierung von Geschäftsprozessen in Verbindung mit Akquisitionen oder auch Des-Investments
  • Profitabilitäts- und Komplexitätsmanagement: Systematische Entwicklung der operativen Treiber der Unternehmensprofitabilität, Beurteilung der Geschäftsrisiken, verbesserte Komplexitätsbeherrschung, aber auch -reduzierung
  • Optimierung der Geschäftssteuerung: Etablieren geeigneter Frühwarnindikatoren, Frühzeitiges Erkennen von Marktveränderungen, Verbesserung der Qualität operativer Entscheidungen

Das Ergebnis: Das exzellent aufgestellte Unternehmen

Gemeinsam mit ihren Klienten haben J&M Berater entscheidende Verbesserungen in deren Business Strategy erzielt. Konkrete Ergebnisse unserer Arbeit waren:

  • Identifikation attraktiver bestehender und neuer Geschäftsfelder und Positionierung
  • Reduzierung von Einzel- und Gemeinkosten durch Identifikation der Kostentreiber und Eliminierung der Kostenverursacher
  • Erhöhung der Produktqualität und Senkung von Ausschuss um 85 %
  • Erhöhung der Leistungsfähigkeit der IT-Infrastruktur
  • Erarbeitung zukunftssicherer Logistikstrategien
„Die sehr fundierte Entwicklung, Bewertung und Auswahl der Supply Chain-Szenarien gibt uns die Sicherheit, dass wir die Weichen richtig stellen und uns für die Zukunft optimal ausrichten."

Heinrich Becker, Head of European Logistics Management

Hilti AG

„Die Expertise und die Professionalität von J&M haben uns beeindruckt. Wir werden auch zukünftig mit J&M bei strategischen Fragestellungen und der Optimierung unserer Logistik zusammenarbeiten."

Ulrich Dickow, Geschäftsleiter Logistik

tegut… Gruppe

„Fertigung und Vertrieb haben den Überblick über alle Fertigungsstufen und Teilprojekte. Bei Verzögerungen können wir frühzeitig gegensteuern. Außerdem zeichnet sich ab, dass wir die Bestände herunterfahren können."

Stefan Schmid, Leitung Logistikplanung (TLE)

MTU Aero Engines GmbH

Kontakt Strategieberatung

Dieter Bölzing Dr.-Ing. Dieter Bölzing
Partner